Staples and Seasonal Clothing: The Magic is in the Mix

sketch1493854042159 (1)

If you have read my “Finding & Defining Your Style” post, you’ve already had a glimpse of some of my style staples, and the new summer clothes I hope to add to my closet. I adore a neon red, as well as a bright, sunny yellow, and this season’s popular candy pinks are also on my shopping list. I know what you’re thinking: I’m probably a clown as my day job. Rest assured, this is not the case, and it is possible to embrace juvenile colors without looking like you’re color blind.

Along with these cheery colors I also love adding black, white, navy, nude, denim, leopard, and chambray to my wardrobe. So it’s important to get yourself some great staples, to wear with each other as well as with seasonal/bold/trendy pieces. Like a great pair of jeans, or a crisp white button down shirt, or timeless black heels. But another thing, just because an item of clothing is a staple to one person, does not mean it is a staple for another. So your staples might be completely different from mine, depending on your taste, lifestyle, age, build, and so on. And that’s perfectly okay, stick to your staples, or go out and figure what your staples are.

Staples are also season-less, so just because you love your heavy wool plaid pants, does not mean you should be wearing them to the office in the dead of summer. Conclusion: they are not a staple. Honestly, whenever I’m deciding whether a piece of clothing is appropriate to wear during a season, I always fall back on the weight of the material. Like, yes, a white button down is season-less, but not if it’s made out of linen (one of the most breathable fabrics–a stiff breeze will make you feel like you have nothing on).

But what’s really important, is to take risks and try things you wouldn’t normally try. I have been so pleasantly surprised by going outside my comfort zone, like learning that red pants paired with a blue pajama top with red piping and matching red shoes is not too much, and is in fact incredibly sharp. Or trying pattern on pattern, or color on color. Some of the chicest looking outfits are completely monochromatic or color blocked with bold colors. So I am going to pair my red mini skirt with a pale pink tee shirt, and create something that’s simple, comfortable, but exciting. I’ll also pair my black bell-sleeve top (I love it for the fall because it’s kind of “witchy”) with black flat espadrilles to make it relevant to the summer season. And with that being said, I’ll also wear a baby pink sweater in the winter, because there is nothing I love more than to wear spring-y colors during the dreary, chilly months.  So challenge your principles and preconceived notions of this color or style being “too summery” or “a clashing of colors.”

However, I do have some limits, like those furry pom pom key chains should be solely designated for fall/winter, sorry not sorry.

Standard

Leave a Reply

